Judicial Service Commission

- Departments

The Judicial Service Commission

The Judicial Service Commission was established in terms of Section 132 of the Constitution of Lesotho, 1993. Constitution of Lesotho 1993, Section 132 (1) There shall be a Judicial Service Commission which shall consist of:

  • The Chief Justice, as Chairman
  • The Attorney-General
  • The Chairman of the Public Service Commission or some other member of that Commission designated by the Chairman thereof
  •  A member appointed from amongst persons who hold or have held high judicial office who shall be appointed by the King acting in accordance with the advice of the Chief Justice and is hereinafter referred to as the appointed member

The function of the JSC is among others to select fit and proper persons for eligibility to be appointed as judges by His Majesty the King and to investigate complaints about judicial officers. When appointments have to be made, the JSC publishes a notice giving details of the vacancies that exist and calls for nominations. It shortlists suitable candidates and invites them for interviews. Professional bodies and members of the public could have the opportunity to comment before the interviews or to make representations concerning the candidates to the commission.

Section 133 of the Constitution of Lesotho has vested JSC with the power to the appointment, other judicial officers. The power to appoint persons to hold or act in any offices to which the section applies (including the power to confirm appointments). The offices to which this section applies are:

  • The office of Registrar or Assistant Registrar of the High Court or Registrar or Assistant Registrar of the Court of Appeal
  • The office of magistrate
  • The office of a member of any subordinate court
  • Such other offices connected with any court as may be prescribed by or under an Act of Parliament

The Registrar the High Court is the Secretary to The  JSC. The current commission’s membership is as follows:

  • Chief Justice Sakoane Sakoane
  • Madam Justice Polo Banyane
  • Hon Rapelang Motsieloa KC – Attorney General
  • H.E Adv. Mpeo Moiloa – Chairman of the Public Service commission
  • Adv. ‘Mathato Sekoai – The Registrar of the High Court